Novel laureate & Plenary lectures


Emeritus Professor Akira SUZUKI (Nobel laureate: Hokkaido University, Japan)

Emeritus Professor Akira

The Nobel Prize in chemistry 2010

Prize motivation:
"for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis"

Professor Hiroshi AMANO (Nobel laureate: Nagoya University, Japan)

Professor Hiroshi AMANO

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014

Prize motivation:
"for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources"

Professor Eiji Yashima (Nagoya University, Japan)

Professor Eiji Yashima

Awards and Honors:

  • 2000 Wiley Polymer Science Award (2000 Chemistry)
  • 2002 Japan IBM Science Award (Chemistry)
  • 2005 Molecular Chirality Award
  • 2006 Journal of Chromatography, Top Cited Article Award 2001 - 2006
  • 2007 Thomson Scientific Research Front Award 2007 (with Prof. Y. Okamoto)
  • 2008 The Award of the Society of Polymer Science for 2007
  • 2010 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 2012 Thomson Scientific Research Front 2012
  • 2013 Chirality Medal
  • 2014 Chemical Society Japan Award

Professor George Kiriakidis (University of CRETE, GREECE)

Professor George Kiriakidis

Awards and Honors:

Professor George Malliaras (Ecole Nationale Superieure des Mines, France)

Professor George Malliaras

Awards and Honors:

Professor Axel HOFMANN (Argonne National University, USA)

Professor Axel HOFMANN

Awards and Honors:

  • Fellow of the American Physical Society and IEEE
  • 2011 Distinguished Lecturer (IEEE Magnetics Society)
  • 2015 Outstanding Researcher (Prairie Section of the American Vacuum Society)

Professor Andrew B. Holmes - University of Melbourne, Australia
(President, Australian Academy of Science)

Professor Andrew B. Holmes

Brief Biographical Details

University of Melbourne School of Chemistry, Bio21 Institute (Melbourne Laureate Professor Emeritus, Professor of Chemistry);
Imperial College Department of Chemistry (Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow).

Andrew Holmes was Professor of Organic and Polymer Chemistry and Director of the Melville Laboratory for Polymer Synthesis at the University of Cambridge. In 2004 he was awarded an ARC Federation Fellowship and Inaugural veski Innovation Fellowship at the Bio21 Institute in the University of Melbourne. He was a CSIRO Fellow, a University of Melbourne Laureate Professor, Distinguished Research Fellow at Imperial College and was the Newton Abraham Visiting Professor, University of Oxford in 2011-12. His research interests involve applications of synthesis to materials science and biology. He has made extensive contributions in the area of light emitting and photovoltaic devices. In May, 2000 he was elected FRS. He was elected FAA in March 2006 and FTSE in November 2006. He is President of the Australian Academy of Science. From 2000-2003 he was Chairman of the Editorial Board of Chemical Communications and he has been an Associate Editor of Organic Letters since April 2006.